Post a Day – Looking Back, I’m Still Alive

WordPress- Post a Day

As a kid, you must have imagined what it was like to be an adult. Now that you’re a grownup (or becoming one), how far off was your idea of adult life?

 

Today, I have made it to the age of 26.  I never thought I would live this long.  I never thought I would make it past high school to be honest.  Depression plagued me.  Suicidal thoughts invaded my brain from the time I was 11.  I didn’t necessarily think I would take my own life, but I sincerely thought I would be dead before I ever reached the legal age of adulthood – the legal age to buy a cigarette or a few years later when I could drink my problems and thoughts down with alcohol.

I created a fantasy world for those around me of what my life as an adult would be.  Never for myself though. I never believed it.  My world as an adult was created to please my parents, my teachers, and my friends.  I created wild dreams of what I would be and who I would become.  I pediatric oncologist!  I saw Patch Adams and loved the movie – yes I would follow in his footsteps.  I would make kids smile, I would create my own free clinic to help those in need.  I would get amazing scholarships so no one would have to pay for my school. 

I told everyone!!!  Yes, I am going to be a doctor.  Not just any doctor. I want to be an oncologist.  A pediatric oncologist!  I am going to make kid smile.  “Won’t that be sad?” they asked.  “Well, yes. Sometimes.  But you have to look at all the lives I will save!” I would tell them.  I knew none of it would ever happen.  I would never have to prove any of this to them.  This was all a fantasy, I would never be an adult. I would never live to have to actually do any of this. 

Mental illness is a horrible thing.  It distorts your views.  I did grow up.  I did take AP classes in high school.  I did get amazing grades despite my awful suicidal thoughts and severe depression.  I went to college.  I majored in nursing.  I barely got through my last 2 years as I was hospitalized for psychiatric reason 8-10 times during those last 1.5 years.   But I had amazing grades, and I did receive my RN.  I had a nurse fellowship at a outpatient oncology clinic. I loved it.  It did seem to be my calling.  Mental illness is something I struggle with though.  I don’t practice as a nurse right now.  I know it is something that is too overwhelming for me and something that I cannot do at this time.  It is still part of my childhood fantasy – something that I created for others, not for myself. 

I am alive though.  That is pretty far off from what my childhood view was of my adult life.  My biggest view during childhood was that I would be dead. Here I am though, in the flesh, alive – heart beating, mind thinking.  Totally opposite!

7 thoughts on “Post a Day – Looking Back, I’m Still Alive”

  1. I still have a few years before I pass the mark where I thought that I’d be dead by, but lately, I’ve become pretty sure that my earlier predictions were incorrect, and that I’m going to make it much longer. I used to think I’d hit 25 and pull the trigger, but now I’m pretty sure that isn’t going to happen. I’m fortunate, I suppose. My outlook on life isn’t nearly as grim as it used to be. Not that it isn’t still grim, but it’s not AS grim.

    Like

  2. That’s great that it is not as grim as before! I definitely still feel like I am not going to make it much longer some days. But it is nice to know that I have made it this long, which gives me the strength to push myself to keep trying. The battle within our minds is hard though. It’s great that you have a more positive outlook though, that is what is important!

    Like

  3. Thank you so much for sharing. I have to confess that I don’t read many blogs but when I saw your post I began to read it and I couldn’t stop. Your blog is amazing. It felt as if I had written this myself as I could relate to your every word. Thank you for being brave and sharing with the world.

    Like

Leave a Reply

