Daily Post – Age, Not Just a Number, But an Achievement

Word Press Post A Day – “Age is just a number,” says the well-worn adage. But is it a number you care about, or one you tend (or try) to ignore?

 

I am not sure I pay attention to my age on a day to day basis, but with each birthday I have, I feel I have hit a milestone. I never expected to be this old. The fact that I have made it this far, I am quite impressed if I do say so myself.  I do not acknowledge my age everyday, I do not pay attention to age everyday, nor do I ruminate on my age or anyone else’s age.  But to me, living another year is a milestone.  It is an achievement.  I have defeated a battle that has been going on in my head.  The battle of suicidal thoughts and mental illness.  I have been conquering them thus far. 

When I look to others, I feel like I look at them the same way.  I do not look at it in a negative way, in the way that many people say, “ugh I am getting soooo old.” But I see strength.  We all have a story, and not everyone knows it.  We all have lived to overcome our struggles though, no matter how big or small they might have been.  So when I look at myself, and I look at others – that is what I see, as each year passes, I see someone who has conquered their battles, their struggles, and has lived another day, another week, another month, another year. My age, their age, it is not “just a number” but an achievement.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Daily Post – Age, Not Just a Number, But an Achievement”

Leave a Reply

