Daily Post – Abuse of One’s Power

Word Press Post A Day – Remember the seven cardinal sins? You’re given the serious task of adding a new one to the list — another trait or behavior you find particularly unacceptable, for whatever reason. What’s sin #8 for you? Why?

Lust, Gluttony, Greed, Sloth, Wrath, Envy, Pride.  The 7 deadly sins.

There is an 8th deadly sin for me.  Well there are probably a 100 or more deadly sins in my book, but today – we will talk about the 8th. 

I can’t sum it down to one work, but four – abuse of one’s power.  Taking advantage of someone because you have more power of them.  Using your title, your badge, your degree, your social status, or whatever it might be to get what you want or enforce your punishment or authority on to someone else.

I guess, a lot of people would think of cops when I write them – they pull someone over and get overly aggressive.  Or there is even a higher number of domestic violence cases within the households that have a member of the law enforcement living in them (of course, many cops are good).  People will say cops speed even when they pull others over for speeding and they are not even chasing anyone or going anywhere special. 

For me, I personally had a teacher abuse his power.  I was molested by a teacher when I was younger.  He took advantage of me.  He abused his authority.  I was depressed and he found out what was going on in my life and told me he would make it better, he would fix it, I just had to listen to him and do what he said.  For months, he made me do things.  He verbally abused me, he sexually abused me.  It took years for me to trust a teacher again.  My life was turned upside down.  My mental health was awful – and still is.  I struggle every day with trust and socialization. 

When someone abuses their power, they take away someone freedom.  They take away that persons self worth.  It might not seem like a big deal.  It might not seem like it affects anything at all.  But it is a big deal.  Whether it is simply doing something because you can – because you know that no one will challenge you for fear of what you will do to them even though no one is going to get hurt, or because you want what you want and someone is going to get hurt – emotionally or physically. 

The 8th cardinal sin – abusing one’s power.

7 thoughts on “Daily Post – Abuse of One’s Power”

  1. Perhaps not as serious as the other cardinal sins but for me: responsibility (refusing to accept).

    I get so frustrated when I see individuals blame society, rock music, video games…whatever…for their poor choices but yet never seem to take responsibility for their own actions.

    For example, I have a close friend that is a teacher and dreads parent-teacher conferences. The parent blames the teacher, school and system for their childs lack of progress. However their child is not to blame and certaintly not the parent. It’s not their fault the child does not do the assigned homework or study for tests. It’s not the parents fault for not following up with the child.

    Absolutely drives me batty…

    Like

  2. Yes I agree, taking responsibility for ones actions is a huge problem. No one wants to do it anymore. The blame is always put on someone else. And people who do put blame on themselves, usually are the ones that aren’t even to blame and then carry the guilt when they shouldn’t be.

    Like

Leave a Reply

