If I Wrote a Book…

Word Press Post A Day – A literary-minded witch gives you a choice: with a flick of the wand, you can become either an obscure novelist whose work will be admired and studied by a select few for decades, or a popular paperback author whose books give pleasure to millions. Which do you choose?

I would absolutely love for people to just be obsessed with my book so much that they just study it for decades.  However,  if I wrote a book I would want it to be interesting – I would it to grab peoples attention, to let them escape the world or educate them, preferably both.

Actually I have an idea for a book, but I do not have the concentration to actually sit down and focus on it at this point.  If anyone has read my previous posts, my blog focuses on mental health issues for the most part — or the majority posts—- or all of my posts with the exception of basically one.

If I wrote a book, I would want it to be about mental health, because there is such a stigma about it.  I wouldn’t want it to just reach out to those that have it though.  I would want it to educate everyone – those that have it, those that done, cats, dogs, birds, fish, whoever wants to read it, bite it, scratch it, peck on it, hmm maybe fish can’t swim on it.  It wouldn’t make fun of mental illness, that is not something one should make fun of, but mental illness is something that you can still have fun with.  There are funny things, funny stories that people can tell, we are still people with funny lives because of our mental illness.  Combining our mental illness to educated others with the good things we have done, how we overcame our challenges, showing our funny side, perhaps showing our challenges while using humor, those are the things I would want to do.

It would be a best seller – all around the world.  Written in so many languages – because lets be honest, mental illness affects everyone.  Not just poor people, not just brown haired people, or rich people, or Hispanics, or white people, or purple haired people, or people that drink Pepsi instead of Coke.  

I would love for a few people to become so obsessed the read my book for decades, and if that happens to occur with this one, that would be awesome!  But most importantly, I want my book to be enjoyed by everyone – to educate everyone about the stigmas of mental illness – for people to be able to escape into humor and the lives of those that live with mental illness so they can see we are people just them.

8 thoughts on “If I Wrote a Book…”

  1. It would be great to read a book that has a main character with “human flaws” but yet manages to struggle, learn and overcome. It is important to humanize and make mental illness relate-able to help remove the stigma from it.

    On a side note, my wife really seems to be into this new show called Black Box. I haven’t seen it yet but she says the lead character, a strong female lead, suffers from mental illness while helping others.

    So perhaps there is some hope that we can see more characters out there that people can relate to. I say go forward with your book and I will get in line to read it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes! Black Box is a very interesting show about a neuroscientist with bipolar disorder. I was unsure about it in the beginning, but it has gotten very interesting now that she has disclosed her illness. Hopefully there will be more like it.

    Like

  3. As a therapist, one who works not really with mental illness, but more with mood disorders and daily problems of life, I understand your need to help remove the stigma from the problem. You are right. My clients are just people with problems, the same as everyone only with a disorder or an illness that affects their behavior. I hope you do write your book some day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

